The 33rd IATO Annual Convention, Bhubaneswar

The esteemed 33rd IATO (Indian Association of Tour Operators) Annual Convention was successfully held with great fanfare and much elaboration at MAYFAIR Convention in Bhubaneswar from the 7th to the 10th of September, 2017. The convention was inaugurated by the honourable Chief Minister of Odisha Shri Naveen Patnaik. It was the first major event that was attended by Shri Alphons Kannanthanam after being inducted into the cabinet as the honourable Minister of State for Tourism, Government of India. Honourable Tourism and Culture Minister of Odisha, Mr. Ashok Chandra Panda was also present amid a host of other prominent dignitaries and industry doyens.

The theme of this year’s convention was “Indian Tourism – Time to Reinvent Ourselves.” Delegates who attended came from all corners of the country. There were also tourism officials and representatives from 15 states. Several interactive sessions were held including sessions on “Next Generation-Challenges and Opportunities”, “Moving Beyond Culture and Heritage”, “Aviation – New Policies and New Opportunities”, “FAITH and the GST Journey” and “Marketing-Stop Serving Old Wine in a New Bottle.” Superb state presentations were also made by respective representatives.

33rd IATO Annual Convention, Mayfair Bhubaneswar

A “Run for Responsible Tourism” was also organized on one of the mornings which saw enthusiastic participation from the supporters. The 33rd IATO (Indian Association of Tour Operators) Annual Convention was brought to a grand fitting end with a valedictory address from Honourable Governor of Odisha, Dr. S.C. Jamir. Shri Satyajeet Rajan, Deputy Director General (Tourism), Government of India, Dr. Mona Sharma, Principal Secretary, Tourism, Odisha and Shri Pronab Sarkar, President, IATO also spoke on the occasion. The 33rd IATO Annual Convention was a great platform to discuss new ideas in tourism, gain invaluable knowledge on relevant sectors of the industry and get priceless insights from experts.